The Herbaliser- There Were Seven + Remix LP (2012/ 2014)

“As the machine’s pistons pumped, spewing toxic smoke and molten ash across the soundscape, seven figures emerged from the shadows. They had the appearance of people from a time now forgotten – seven troubadours with sonic dexterity. These agents of mischief told us that the reign of the machine must end and they were here to take it down piece by piece…” … Continue Reading for the Remix LP

It’s the return of THE HERBALISER, the seven strong lords of loopy, soundtrack inspired funk-infused hip-hop (or hip-hop-infused funk, depending on your perspective). They haven’t been around for a while and they’ve returned to a world where all music seems to be made by robots.

So the boys are back to hit you with what they do best; 15 slabs of super heavy, psychedelic, beat-laden, post-hip-hop audio for your ears and mind, from the undulating wobbly dub “Welcome to Extravagance”, through the electronic takeover of “Mother Dove”, to the manic spitting flute funk of “Take ‘Em On” hitting you right in your boogie nerve. The Herbaliser’s seventh album takes you on an epic journey with the samurais of sound and their new comrades.

Featuring collaborations with up-and-coming UK wordsmith George the Poet on “A Sad State of Affairs”, the whispering soulful vocalist Hannah Clive on “The Lost Boy”, and super MC’s from across the Atlantic – Twin Peaks and Teenburger.

Take some time out from the tinny, un-inspiring, auto-tune infected world for an hour, and feast on some tasty, warm organic beats, brought to you by those you can trust to get the job done…. THE HERBALISER.

18 months on from the release of their critically acclaimed 7th album, ‘There Were Seven’, UK Hip-Hop/Funk/Soul pioneers The Herbaliser return with ‘There Were Seven – Remixes’. Released on the band’s own Department H label the album features 15 newly recorded and remixed versions, plus a further 8 bonus instrumental cuts, from the likes of 2econd Class Citizen, Wah Wah 45’s Colman Brothers and Drum’n’Bass/Electronica pioneer T Power.

The band’s first album after a break of four years, ‘There Were Seven’ was hailed as ‘a buoyant return’ (Clash), resembling ’something Grandmaster Flash would produce for a modern day audience’ (The Music Fix) where ‘repeated listens of this finely realised album are therefore an enjoyable must’ (BBC Music) and saw them featured everywhere from The Guardian to DJ Mag.

Having launched themselves back into the public eye, Jake and Ollie quickly discovered how social media had completely changed the way bands and fans interacted in recent years. Rather than retreating to the tour bus straight after the show to jump on the Playstation they started to take time to hang around and meet and chat with fans and other artists they’d connected with on Twitter.

From this they got to know a whole new generation of producers, and reconnect with some old friends, with the result this album, 15 new mixes from established producers to fast rising stars such as French producer Hugo Kant, Liverpool’s Jenome and Paraguayan trio Lopez through to UK Hip-Hop legend No Sleep Nigel and sensational live act the Renegade Brass Band.

From dusty fingered soul to sparse electronica, bass heavy bangers to brass heavy stompers, ‘There Were Seven – Remixes’, takes one of the best leftfield albums of recent years and reimagines it in a myriad different ways, a testament to both the original material’s strength and the skill and imagination of the remixers involved.

Respond to The Herbaliser- There Were Seven + Remix LP (2012/ 2014)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s